Liminal
+

Liminal

by Jordan Tannahill
  • debut
  • english-from-canada
  • lgbtq
  • literary
From award-winning playwright and filmmaker Jordan Tannahill comes a masterful and moving debut novel in the tradition of Ben Lerner’s Leaving the Atocha Station and Sheila Heti’s How Should a Person Be. Liminal is being made into a feature length art film by the NFB and the National Theatre in the UK. Tannahill currently resides in London, UK.

Contributors

Jordan Tannahill, author

Jordan Tannahill is an award-winning playwright, director, and author. His plays have been translated into multiple languages and honoured with prizes including the Governor General’s Literary Award for Drama and several Dora Mavor Moore Awards. Jordan’s films and multimedia performances have been presented at festivals and galleries such as the Toronto International Film Festival, the Art Gallery of Ontario, and the Tribeca Film Festival. From 2012 to 2016, Jordan and William Ellis ran the influential underground art space Videofag out of their home in Toronto’s Kensington Market. In 2017, his play Late Company transferred to London’s West End while his virtual reality performance Draw Me Close, a co-production between the National Theatre (U.K.) and the National Film Board of Canada, premiered at the Venice Biennale. In 2018, Jordan will premiere his play Declarations at Canadian Stage, and Xenos, a collaboration with dancer-choreographer Akram Khan, at the Onassis Cultural Centre in Athens. Born in 1988 in Ottawa, he currently resides in London, U.K.

Reviews

  • Jordan Tannahill is a Canadian art powerhouse with an already impressive artistic resumé. He can now add "accomplished novelist" to that list. - Winnipeg Free Press Link to review
  • You don't want to get to the end of this type of book; you'd rather drill down to its spine. [...] It's a different sort of pleasure, but it's a great one. - Globe & Mail Link to review
  • Tannahill is a good writer, a natural storyteller with a strong sense of narrative rhythm as well as the ability to launch into almost mystical flights of poetic vision. - Toronto Star Link to review

Rights Holder

Rights Holder: House of Anansi Press

email: rights@houseofanansi.com

website: https://houseofanansi.com/

rights available: World, excl. English Canada

Additional Information

number of pages: 279

publication date: 01/23/2018

Original language of pub: English

Materials Available: finished book